Monday e-Boost: Face Your Fears

 

Face your Fears
Photo Credit: http://www.dangiercke.com

Fear is one emotion I believe most, if not all humans, experience at one point or another. According to Dictionary.com, Fear – is a distressing emotion aroused by impending danger, evil, pain, etc., whether the threat is real or imagined; the feeling or condition of being afraid.

From this definition, we can see that what we are afraid of most times could as well be a mirage.

FEAR
Photo Credit: Therese Kerr

And good news is, most of the real things we are afraid of are not as big as we think/imagine them to be… But sadly, we’ll never know this except we face the fear(s). So today’s e-Boost is a reminder to us all to face our fears – headlong.

You know that fear that has kept you from reaching for your dreams – job, academic pursuit, relationship, etc. This fear could be  for something as small as a cockroach or as giant as a giraffe – figuratively and otherwise. This fear could be something as simple as asking your dad if you could borrow his car to go for an event or something as ‘dreadful’ as registering and studying for that professional exam that will take your career to the next level.

Whichever it is, I wrote the poem below for you, by the inspiration of the Holy Spirit. And my deepest heart desire is for it to inspire and challenge you to conquer your fears and reach for your dreams.

I RUN

I run

And I run fast

I’ve been running since I was a kid

Even though I never won any award in athletic events

.

.

I run

And I’ve been able to outrun my pursuers

Ask my fears they’ll tell you better

.

.

I run

And I’ve run very far away from the voices of my fear

I’ve run very far from the demons that tell me that I can’t

Not realizing that the farther I run, the further I prove them right

Because the further I run away from them

The further I also run away from my dreams

.

.

I run

And I kept running until I got tired of running and paused to catch my breath

I paused and looked back to see how much distance is between me and my pursuers

Then I saw the strangest thing…

My pursuers stood still

They paused as I paused

They weren’t pursuing me anymore

.

.

I run

But this time, I change my direction

I take steps, light steps in the direction of my pursuers

And another strange thing happens…

They run too – away from me!

And gradually it dawns on me that my fears are afraid of me too!

.

.

It dawns on me that my fears are fuelled and energized by own fears

So I increase my pace and pursue them harder

Until another realization hits me…

Pursuing them is a waste of my energy

So I change directions yet again

This time in the direction of my dreams

.

.

I run

With the same zest I ran away from my fears

I run

This time towards my dreams

And today I have medals for my running


May I add that you CANNOT live a Distinguished or Excellent life if you keep running from your fears. It’s a beautiful Monday Sweetie, and another golden opportunity for you to face your fears, will you?

It will be my pleasure if you do.

Much Love,

ChinyereDistinguished

PS: Love is sharing, please share ❤️

PPS: Let’s connect FACEBOOK || INSTAGRAM || TWITTER

One Reply to “Monday e-Boost: Face Your Fears”

Leave a Reply

