#TheUnheardStory – Maybe If I didn’t Fall, I wouldn’t Have Discovered Purpose

unheard-story-with-felix-blessing

Happy New Month Lovelies!

I’m super excited and happy to be in December. God has been so Faithful really. I hope you feel same way? There may not be big blessings to count (which i honestly doubt) but once you start counting the lil’ blessings like I did here, you will find that a day is not enough.

Today, we resume The Unheard Stories series as promised. Blessing’s #UnheardStory will inspire you to look deeper and better at any experience/mistake from your past you feel might be a disadvantage. Please seat back, read, learn and share your lessons in the comment box.

 

Maybe If I didn’t Fall, I wouldn’t Have Discovered Purpose – Blessing Felix Onyemenam

felix-blessing2
Blessing Felix Onyemenam

“God made my life complete when I placed all the pieces before Him. When I got my act together, He gave me a fresh start.” – Psalms 18:20 (The Message Bible)

 

My name is Blessing Felix Onyemenam. I was born into a Christian home. Actually, my dad is a clergy. My dad has been a pastor before I was born, so I grew up in the church, knew God and passed my Bible Knowledge very well. I gave my life to Christ when I was about 8 years of age after I watched the movie ‘A Thief In The Night’.

The movie was about rapture and what would happen here on earth after believers must have been caught up. I was so scared and I cried bitterly after seeing the movie because I didn’t want to go to hell. That day, my dad led me to Christ; but many years later, my Christian life was just on and off, until after my service year when God’s grace found me, again.

Before I re-dedicated my life to God, I could still speak ‘Christianese’ and act very ‘Christian’ but deep down, I knew things were not the same. I wasn’t a wild girl or anything of the sort but after some years of ‘chaste’ dating, I wanted more…

felix-blessing

I started dating quite early. My first relationship lasted six years – no kisses, smooches, or any other kind of romance, and I was very comfortable with it until I found out he was homosexual. Few months after recovering from that shocker, I found myself in another relationship. A “romantic” one this time.

Back then, I used to pride myself as a virgin – my virginity was a big deal for me and I treasured it so much. I was so proud of it and deep within, I felt it was my own making. So when I started dating this very “romantic” guy, I would entertain the kisses and romance but not sex. I felt I could play with fire and not get burnt! And though I always felt terrible and far from God whenever that happened, I always consoled myself with the fact that I was still a virgin.

Well, it wasn’t long before I got burnt… On one fateful day, I had just a little flirt with temptation, and in a twinkle of an eye, I lost it—unplanned, undesired, and against my wish. That minute, I felt I had lost my pride, and though I ended my relationship with the guy that same day, it took me months before I reconciled with God, my King and lover of my soul.

This was just few months to the end of my NYSC. It was after that experience and my reconciliation with God that God revealed my purpose and in turn we birthed SHE’S ROYALTY to fulfill His purpose.

shes-royalty

She’s Royalty is a Facebook group with the vision to inspire women to find their worth in Christ. I started the group with less than 10 members and today we are about 5, 000 members. We had our 3rd year anniversary few months ago and it was a huge success. We also have a page called SHE’S ROYALTY with the tagline – A man’s inspirational tank needs to be refilled all the time. SHE’S ROYALTY inspires you through the life-changing word of God, and wisdom from men.

webinar

Was recently a guest speaker in the above webinar and I felt really fulfilled sharing God’s word and teaching on the topic “BEING SINGLE AND SET APART”.  I sometimes feel God allowed me make that mistake in order to birth my purpose and help others avoid similar mistakes because as we know, experience isn’t the best teacher in all scenarios; sometimes, it is pure wisdom to learn from the experiences and mistakes of others.

Today, I can boldly talk about my past without regrets because God used it to birth my purpose. Today, I inspire, encourage, advice and build other ladies up, because I’ve been there, and because I know what it means to be torn down. And I’m thankful that I have all the support from the most important men in my life today, who despite my past, are proud of the woman I have become – God, my dad (yes, he knows this) and my Best-est (my husband, who permitted me to share this).

mr-n-mrs-onyemenam
Best-est and I – Mr. & Mrs Onyemenam

My hobbies and things I love about me

 

I love that I have a compassionate heart, and that I cry so easily. I also love the fact that I’m not easily influenced by my peers. Let’s say, I can decide to do something and I don’t care how many people are not doing the same thing with me, I’ll just stick to it, especially when I’m on the right path.

I’m passionate about designing, drawing, paperwork, painting and reading.

Favorite quote

“That man is a success who has lived well, laughed often and loved much…”


Thanks a lot maama B for sharing your inspiring #UnheardStory with us. Picked so many lessons from these but will share just two:

  • Nobody is infallible
  • God works it all for our good, we only need let Him.

I’m so happy and blessed you yielded your life – mistakes and all to Him. Your Facebook Group – SHE’S ROYALTY, is an inspiration and Blessing on all fronts.

Your turn sweeties, what lessons did you pick from Blessing’s #Unheard story? What advice or suggestion do you have for other readers? Please share in the comment box.

Connect with her: Facebook – Blessing Felix Onyemenam, Instagram –@blesin.shesroyalty

 

Wishing y’all a most memorable and fulfilled December. 2016 will surely end in PRAISE!

Xo

ChinyereDistinguished

PS: Please show me some love by using the SHARE buttons below. #Gracias

5 Replies to “#TheUnheardStory – Maybe If I didn’t Fall, I wouldn’t Have Discovered Purpose”

  1. True…sometimes purpose can be birthed from pain and some negative experiences. Thank you mama for sharing your story. 👏👏👏👏

    Chinyere, keep up with the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

