Thanksgiving Friday

images-5
Photo Credit: mrwatanabes4thgradeblog

“O give thanks unto the Lord; for He is good: For His mercy endureth forever” – Psalm 136:1

Yesterday, 24 November was National Thanksgiving Day in the United States and lots of people put up posts and dp’s to commemorate the US National Thanksgiving Day… Really impressive that a country consciously carved in Thanksgiving Day in their annual calendar (you can read about Thanksgiving Day history HERE)

Of course, we all know some people use the day for anything but Thanksgiving but truth is, the name “Thanksgiving Day” brings about some consciousness to reflect and give thanks to God for ‘small’ and ‘big’ blessings.

In my own way of commemorating the US 2016 National Thanksgiving Day, I choose to consciously thank God for the seemingly small blessings in my life (previously counted my ‘big blessings’ HERE). You know, most times we are more conscious of thanking God for the so called ‘big miracles or testimonies’ like that long awaited job/contract, admission into school, getting married, having kids, buying a car, etc. Sometimes, we even take it for granted that we are alive to see another birth anniversary of our life… as if it were by our own doing.

The year is coming to an end and you probably don’t have all your 2016 prayer points answered yet, same here. We may not have the anticipated so called ‘big’ testimonies yet but if we are sincere, we can’t deny that we got so many seemingly small blessings to be thankful for. King David’s wise counsel on counting lil’ blessings sure works – Once you start counting, it will surprise you the number of things you take for granted.

Here are my top 5 ‘small’ reasons for Thanksgiving:

1. I thank God for life. I know this is no small blessing at all but most times I/we take it for granted, as if it were a small miracle to sleep and wake up… hmmmm. The blessing of Life is a HUGE miracle and testimony. And on it is hinged any other ‘small’ or ‘big’ miracle. My life is not by my power. This lyrics capture it aptly for me:

“So I’m here today because God kept me. I’m alive today only because of His Grace!”
Thank you Lord!

2. Thankful for the ability to read and write. I don’t take it for granted at all that I had the privilege of going to school to learn how to read and write. I also don’t take it for granted that I can read and understand and also write what others can read and understand. I’ve come across so many graduates who are unable to pen down their thoughts, and some who do, but find it real difficult to spell their words right, #sigh.
Thank you Jesus!

3. Thankful for my family. My parents marked their 34th wedding anniversary last month and I can’t help but stand AMAZED at God’s overwhelming faithfulness through the years… Plenty huge testimonies in this seemingly small blessing.
I sincerely thank God for keeping us all together as one big happy family.

4. Grateful for friends and mentors I can confide in, and be rest assured my story is safe with them, but more importantly, that they hold me up in their prayers.
Trust me, it’s a terrible experience to have no one to confide in when you’re burdened. It’s even worse to confide in someone and then have your story retold from several other mouths and quarters…
Thank you Lord for the gift of good friends and mentors!

5. Grateful to God for mistakes, they sure taught me how not to do some things. Agreed, mistakes sure cost time, money and sometimes opportunities. But there are some lessons I may not have learnt or understood if not for these mistakes. Plus I’m super grateful to God for never letting me make devastating mistakes… God loves me soooo much!

There are sure more seemingly small blessings to count but let me stop here and allow you share yours…

For anyone going through some tough time or finding it difficult to see small or big reasons to be thankful, still thank God all the same starting with the reasons stated above maka na ekene dike na nke omere, omekwa ozo! (When we thank God for what He has done, He is motivated to do more)

Also, this beautiful prayer song by Hillsong should come in handy. It works for me. Special thanks to my sister-friend Mobolaji for sharing it with me when I was going through some real tough time. It’s a different kinda praise song. Pair it with Lauren Diagle’s ‘Trust in You’ here.

‘Even When It Hurts’ by Hillsong

Take this fainted heart
Take these tainted hands
Wash me in Your love
Come like grace again

Even when my strength is lost
I’ll praise You
Even when I have no song
I’ll praise You
Even when it’s hard to find the words
Louder then I’ll sing Your praise

I will only sing Your praise

Take this mountain weight
Take these ocean tears
Hold me through the trial
Come like hope again

Even when the fight seems lost
I’ll praise You
Even when it hurts like hell
I’ll praise You
Even when it makes no sense to sing
Louder then I’ll sing Your praise

I will only sing Your praise
I will only sing Your praise
I will only sing Your Praise

And my heart burns only for You
You are all You are all I want
And my soul waits only for You
And I will sing till the morning has come

Lord my heart burns only for You
You are all You are all I want
And my soul waits only for You
And I will sing till the miracle comes

I will only sing Your praise
I will only sing Your praise
I will only sing Your praise

Even when the morning comes
I’ll praise You
Even when the fight is won
I’ll praise You
Even when my time on earth is done
Louder then I’ll sing Your praise

I will only sing Your praise

I pray this blesses, encourages and gives you multiple reasons to thank God, like it does for me. (Click here to listen to the song)

For people like me who have plenty blessings to count, please don’t hesitate to share your seemingly small or big blessings with us in the comment box. Twill sure encourage someone out there.

Wishing y’all a Thanksgiving-filled weekend.
Xo
ChinyereDistinguished

3 Replies to “Thanksgiving Friday”

Leave a Reply

