My Favorite Songs For Counting My Blessings

Listening to songs

In line with this week’s e-Boost on not forgetting goodness and benefits received from God or man (click here if you missed it), I decided to share my 4 recent favorite songs for counting my blessing and appreciating God’s overwhelming faithfulness.

When I reflect on my life and how far God has brought me this year I can’t help but say “I don’t deserve it!’. God’s been sooo good to moi! Yeah, my life/the year hasn’t been all rosy and smooth, there’s been some really intimidating mountains and terrifying storms. Some I’ve come through, some I’m still going through, but in all of it, God’s been my God, Father, Friend, Refuge, Comfort, Peace, Joy, Anchor, Inspiration, Strength, Source and Stay!

  1. The first song that comes to my mind when I decide to count my blessings rather than dwell on things that aren’t working out yet, is Nathaniel Bassey’s “This God You Too Good”
  2. Then, when I reflect on how God has constantly made ways out of near impossible situations for me, two songs struggle for priority in my mind:
  • Travis Greene’s “Made A Way” and
  • Sinach’s “Way Maker”
  1. And for times I try to imagine and comprehend God’s greatness and awesomeness, it always dawns on me afresh that no words are enough to express how great or awesome He is! And the song that comes close to capturing this awesomeness for me is “Lord you’re mighty” (Youthful Praise)

Here are the lyrics and links to each song  for your weekend delight; just click on each song title to listen/watch song video. Enjoy!

  1. Nathaniel Bassey – This God is too Good Ft. Micah Stampley

Verse 1:
I know a God, who’s merciful and kind
Faithful and gracious
I’m the apple of his eyes
And the thought that fills his heart
Every Morning, noon and night
He loved me when I didn’t care
And was patient till I came
Running back into his arms
Look how he turned my life around
Making me a shining light
His glory to reveal

Chorus.
I will worship you forever
Love you forever because
This God is too good o

Verse2
Don’t look too far to see how good he is
Just look at me
He took me from the miry clay
Set my foot upon the rock
I’m standing in his righteousness
He took away my sin and shame
Gave me a brand new name
His beloved and the redeemed
See how he turned my life around
Made me a shining light his glory to reveal

  1. Travis Greene – Made A Way

Verse 1

Made a way

Don’t know how but you did it

Made a way

Standing here not knowing how will get through this test

But holding unto faith you know that

Nothing can catch you by surprise

You got this figured out and you’re watching us now

But when it looks as if we can’t win

You wrap us in your arm and step in

And everything we need you supply

You got this in control

And now we know that

Chorus

You made a way

When our backs were against the wall

And it looked as if it was over

You made a way

And we’re standing here

Only because you made a way

You made a way

Verse 2

Now we’re here

Looking back on where we come from

Because of you and nothing we’ve got

To deserve the love and mercy you’ve shown

But your grace was strong enough to pick us up

And you made a way (repeat chorus)

Bridge

You move mountains

You cause walls to fall

With your power

You perform miracles

There is nothing that’s impossible

And we’re standing here

Only because you made a way

You made a way [x4]

Don’t know how but you did it

Made a way

Don’t know how but you did it

Made a way

Don’t know how but you did it [x4]

Don’t know why but I’m grateful [x4]

Don’t know how but I’m grateful

And we’re standing here

Only because you made

And we’re standing here

Only because you made a way

And we’re standing here

Only because you made

You move mountain [x4]

You cause walls to fall [x4]

You cause chains to break [x4]

Giants fall [x4]

‘Cos you move mountain

You move mountain

And everything is easy for you

‘Cos you move mountain

Yes, you move mountain

Mountains are moving [x4]

Strong holds are breaking [x4]

‘Cos you move mountain

You cause walls to fall

With your power [x4]

You perform miracles [x4]

 

  1. Sinach – Way Maker

Verse 1

You are here, moving in our midst

I worship you, I worship you

You are here, working in this place

I worship you, I worship you

(2x)

Chorus

Yay

Way maker

Miracle worker

Promise keeper

Light in the darkness

My God

That is who you are

(2x)

Verse 2

You are here, touching every heart

I worship you, I worship you

You are here, healing every heart

I worship you, I worship you

You are here, turning lives around

I worship you, I worship you

You are here, mending every heart

I worship you, I worship you

[Repeat Chorus]

Bridge

You wipe away all tears

You mend the broken heart

You’re the answer to it all

Jesus

You wipe away all tears

You mend the broken heart

You’re the answer to it all(to it all)

Jesus

[Chorus]

Yay

Way maker

Miracle worker

Promise keeper

Light in the darkness

My God

That is who you are (ha hey)

(2x)

[Outro]

You are here

Touching every life

I worship you, I worship you

You are here

Meeting every need

I worship you

I worship you

And this is my FAVORITE of favorites! Got it on replay for weeks now

Listening to songs2

4. Youthful Praise – Lord You’re Mighty

Lord You’re mighty*
Lord You’re mighty

Verse 1
Oh Lord how excellent is Your name in all the earth.
You set Your glory above the heavens and the earth.
When I think of all You’ve made, the sun, the moon and the stars.
No praise is high enough to express how great You are.

Verse 2
What a mighty God we serve.
Mighty God we serve.
Angels they bow before the mighty God we serve
What a mighty God we serve.
Mighty God we serve.
Let heaven and the earth adore the mighty God we serve.

Lord You’re mighty
Lord You’re mighty

[Repeat Verse 1]

[Repeat Verse 2:]

Hallelujah (4x)
All glory
All honor
All praise
All praise
[Repeat:]

To the mighty God we serve.
Mighty God we serve.
Angels, bow before the mighty God we serve.

Lord You’re mighty
Lord You’re mighty

What a mighty God we serve.
What mighty God we serve.
Angels, they bow before Him.
What a mighty God we serve

I pray these songs minister to you as they do to me and possibly you’ll love them too as much as I do, hehe.

Wishing y’all a Praise-filled weekend, irrespective of the prevailing circumstances and please don’t hesitate to share your comments in the box below.

Much Love

ChinyereDistinguished

Photo Credit1: thezilla.com

Photo Credit2: blog.writersdomain.net

 

 

5 Replies to “My Favorite Songs For Counting My Blessings”

  1. Asin ehh! Sometimes when I feel overwhelmed i just proclaim the lyrics of the songs and God will miraculously make ways for me!

    Will find a way of sending the last song to you via WhatsApp.

    Thanks for reading and commenting B’, love you hun!

    Like

  2. Travis Greene’s Made a way ministers to me every time i listen to the song. God has thought me to always thank him in advance for victory!

    I recommend Don Moen’s -“I will Sing” too. Perfect song when i find it hard to pray!

    Like

Leave a Reply

